Department of Energy Announces 10 Water Resource Recovery Prize Phase One Winners

Department of Energy Announces 10 Water Resource Recovery Prize Phase One Winners

Today, the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) announced the winners of the first phase of competition for the Water Resource Recovery Prize. Launched in January 2020, the Water Resource Recovery Prize accelerates resource recovery from municipal wastewater across the United States. In this two-phased competition, DOE seeks novel, systems-based solutions from multidisciplinary teams at small- to medium-sized water resource recovery facilities (WRRFs).

Through cost-effective and innovative engineering solutions, WRRFs can progress toward the federal goal of doubling water resource recovery by 2030, which can be accomplished by shifting conventional wastewater treatment to a model of resource recovery from municipal wastewater.

In the first phase of competition, teams submitted an engineering schematic and business case demonstrating the potential for cost-effectiveness and viability of resource recovery. Teams selected during phase one will move into phase two, in which up to two teams will be selected to receive $250,000 cash prizes. Only small- and medium-sized facilities (those with flows of up to 50 million gallons per day) were eligible to participate.

The phase one winners are:

The Water Resource Recovery Prize, launched by the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy’s (EERE’s) Advanced Manufacturing Office, was developed with feedback from industry stakeholders in response to a Request for Information issued by EERE in fall 2019. This prize is part of the Water Security Grand Challenge, a White House-initiated, DOE-led framework to advance transformational technology and innovation to meet the global need for safe, secure, and affordable water. It supports the Water Security Grand Challenge goal of doubling resource recovery from water resource recovery facilities by 2030. The prize also supports EERE’s American-Made Challenges, which incentivize the nation’s entrepreneurs to strengthen American leadership in energy innovation and domestic manufacturing.