Department of Higher Education, Government of Rajasthan

Department of Higher Education, Government of Rajasthan


The Department of College Education was set up in 1958 for the administration and development of higher education in the State of Rajasthan. However, there were only 40 Colleges (24 Government, 13 Aided and 3 Unaided) then and the department is now managing 290 Government Colleges, 1659 Unaided Private Colleges and 914 BEd colleges (Session 2019-20). The administration is headed by the Commissioner, College Education, Government of Rajasthan, Jaipur.

A significant role is being played by the department in bringing about quantitative and qualitative improvement in the higher education in the State.

Important Activities are:

The budget distribution and expenditure in Government Colleges is under the purview of Commissionerate. The placement of teaching faculty and non-teaching staff in Government Colleges, their service matters and academic control are dealt herein.

The Commissionerate is also the State Project Directorate (SPD) that helps the Government Colleges and State Universities in obtaining grants from Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) under  Rashtriya Uchhatar Shiksha Abhiyaan  (RUSA). Commissionerate aids in implementing Youth development programmes like NSS,YDC, Rover-Rangering, NCC etc.