Ministry of Natural Resources and Energy-Department of Water Affairs

The Department of Water Affairs is established according to the Water Act of 2003 as the secretariat to the National Water Authority. It comprises of three government sections within the Ministry of Natural Resources and Energy. These sections are:
The Water Resources Section – Responsible for the management and development of surface resources which includes the development of dams, monitoring river flows and the control of water pollution. 
The Rural Water Supply Section- Responsible for the design, construction and maintenance of rural water schemes.
The Hydro-geology and Drilling Section – Responsible for the exploration, drilling and management of groundwater resources