Russian-Armenian University

Russian-Armenian University was founded following the interstate agreement between the Republic of Armenia and Russian Federation in 1997. During the relatively short time of its existence, RAU has become a leading educational and scientific center in Armenia, proving to be an excellent model of integration in education.

The University’s rector is former Prime-Minister of the Republic of Armenia, Doctor of Economics, Professor, member of the National Academy of Sciences of Armenia, Prof. Armen Darbinyan, who assumed the post in 2001.



RAU offers a diverse range of undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate programs. The main language of instruction is Russian; however, we offer courses in Armenian and English as well. Upon graduation, students receive two Diplomas: Armenian and Russian. The University comprises 31 Departments and 8 Institutes: Institute of Mathematics and Informatics, Institute of Physics and Engineering, Institute of Biomedicine and Pharmacy, Institute of Economics and Business, Institute of Law and Politics, Institute of Humanities, Institute of Media, Advertising and Film Production, Institute of Oriental Studies.

The University prepares specialists with up-to-date knowledge and skill ensuring their place in the competitive job market.

other countries.andAttracting ethnic Armenian prospective students from all over the region, the University fulfills the role of a significant repatriation center in the country. Around 30% of students admitted to RAU each year are young people from CIS countries: Russia (which stands for the largest Armenian Diaspora), Georgia, Turkmenistan, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan