

FINAL CONFERENCE

BLUESCITIES: - THE FUTURE

VENUE:

Delegation of Catalonia to Brussels

Rue de la Loi 227

1040 Brussels

T. +32 (0) 2 230 97 46

DATE:

The 14th of December, 2016

TIME:

09.30 - 16.30

Conference Presenter: Dr. David Feldman, University of California (Irvine) and Member of the BlueSCities External Advisory Board

09.00 - 09.30:Registration and Coffee

09.30 - 10.00:Offical Welcome:

Amadeu Altafaj – Catalonian Delegate in Brussels

Valerie Benard – European Commission and Project Officer of BlueSCities

Robert Schroder – European Commission, Cabinet of Commissioner Moedas Research, Science and Innovation





10.00 – 11.00:The Importance of the integration of water and waste within the global strategy of Sustainable Cities.

Roundtable Discussion:

Ihab Fahmy – Secretariat of the Union for the Mediterranean

Oriana Romano - OECD

Claire Roumet - ENERGY-CITIES

Seneshaw Tsegaye - Patel School of Global Sustainability, University of South Florida

11.00 - 11.15Coffee Break

11.15 - 12.00The results of BlueSCities

Roundtable Discussion:

Richard Elelman – Fundació CTMCentre Tecnologic and Coordinator of BlueSCities

Kees van Leeuwen - KWR

Bogumil Ulanicki – De Montfort University

Nicola Bazzurro - IREN

Leonardo Piccinnetti - REDINN

12.00 -12.15: Q+A from the audience

12.15 – 13.00: The European Atlas of Urban Water Management and the Dubrovnik Declaration of Intent Award.

Dr. Bernd Gawlik – JRC of the European Commission

13.00 - 14.00: Buffet Lunch





14.00 - 16.30: The Future after BlueSCities

(The full conclusions of the afternoon's events will be published in a Public Conference Report)

Section A

14.00 – **14.45.**The public of approximately 60 invited guests will be divided into 5 groups of 12. Each group will have a leader who will later report to the plenary session.

Group Leaders:

David Smith - WF&B

Durk Krol - WssTP

Uri Marchaim - MIGAL

Lydia Vamvakeridou-Lyroudia-University of Exeter and Representative of ICT4WATER Cluster

Gaetano Casale - UNESCO-IHE

Section B

14.45-15.15: Group Leader Reports

15.15 - 15.30: Coffee Break

Section C

15.30 – 16.00: General Debate presided by Dr. David Feldman

All attendees

Section D

16.00 – 16.30 Conclusions taken from debate by each of the Project Partners

Richard Elelman

Stef Koop

Leonardo Piccinnetti

Melek Kazezyılmaz Alhan

Stefano Gianazzi

Christos Makropoulos





Bernd Gawlik

Nicola Bazzuro

Anna Strzelecka

Alexandre Bredimas

Peter Easton

Laura Wendling

16.30: End of Conference

